Britten, Death in Venice

No longer available to stream


Date Added: 18th July 2017

Date Removed: 8th February 2019

Available for: 19 months



Death in Venice, the last opera by Benjamin Britten, was composed based on the novella by Thomas Mann of the same name, which inspired at least one other celebrated artist, the filmmaker Luchino Visconti. Britten's opera was first performed at Aldeburgh Festival in 1973, just two years after the cinema release of Visconti's film.



Year: 2012

Duration: 2 hours, 33 minutes


Director: Ross MacGibbon

Cast: Deborah Warner, Edward Gardner, English National Opera Orchestra, Paul Brough, English National Opera Chorus, John Graham-Hall, Andrew Shore

Studio: Leopard Films /


Amazon Rating: